Harold Mabern: “Afro Blue” | Musicians at Google

Harold Mabern visited Google’s New York office to discuss and perform songs from Afro Blue, his second release on Smoke Sessions Records. Afro Blue is a special recording featuring guest vocalists Gregory Porter, Norah Jones, Jane Monheit, Kurt Elling, and Alexis Cole.

Hear Harold speak about his journey as a musician, his mentorship of Eric Alexander and Joe Farnsworth, and his work as an educator. Also hear from special guest Kurt Elling on his latest album Passion World, on Concord Records.

Appearing in the video are Harold Mabern (piano), Eric Alexander (tenor sax), John Webber (bass), Joe Farnsworth (drums), and special guest Kurt Elling (vocals).

Song list for the video performance:

1. The Chief
2. Bobby, Benny, Jymie, Lee, Bu
3. Afro Blue
4. You Needed Me
5. Portrait of Jennie
6. Billie’s Bounce

Hosted by Andrew Ralles



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *